THE NAMASAGALI PRODUCTION!!

1 Mar

One reason its been hard to blog lately is perhaps the fact that alongside the Sanyu morning show, Being PD, traveling for work, running 2 businesses and being heavily involved in organization on the creative team at my church- I was also involved in a Play/Production at the Uganda National Theater..When i re-read what I’ve just written i feel like taking 2 aspirin and going to bed!!

I am an old student of NAMASAGALI COLLEGE Uganda renowned for putting up annual dance/drama shows at the national theatre in our heyday and this was a reunion of sorts.

Nonetheless I must say accepting a lead role in the play; committing to rehearsal for 2 months and seeing it through is rewarding in ways mere words cannot describe

I have gone back to my school days, doing splits, crazy airlifts, being aware of every inch of my body, aches, bruises,

He lives in me- dance

The camaraderie with the rest of the cast and dancers has been so rewarding for my soul that I cannot begin to thank God and the script writers for giving me this outlet to express myself!

Dancing with Julio


it was like falling in love, making a baby and then watching that baby become a person walk down the aisle and become a success in a chosen field.

Diana Ross- It's my house- Morning Dance!


The Play was about a Rich South African entrepreneur returning to his house in Uganda that his trusty servant George turns into a Hotel while he is away- his unexpected return causes hilarious Chaos and he meets Mme. Marchmont a dance teacher who tries to seduce him

Mme. Marchmont! and Mr. Dlamini


Argentine TANGO our version!


Choreographed by Sam Ibanda the Argentine Tango was my favourite!


but he has returned for his one true love- Maria whom he ignored for 5 years! Sadly she is engaged to One Lord Blenkinsop! (we called him lord bathing soap backstage for fun!! lol!)

Mr. Dlamini, Ms Marchmont and the sly hotel Manager George


Does Mr. Dlamini get Maria in the end? You needed to watch to know –

Ms. Marchmont and George - opening scenes!


Oh i was the Dance teacher/ Seducer..naturally! LOL!

With Ms. Maria's Fiance

8 Responses to “THE NAMASAGALI PRODUCTION!!”

  1. Lindah March 1, 2012 at 9:10 am #

    Ms. Marchmont the seducer and dance teacher 🙂 , you’re so amazing. I hardly know you but I feel like I have known you for years. My dear role model!!! What can’t you do on planet earth? You dance, you ride a horse, you fly a plane, you model, you MC, you swim, you do everything. I really look up to you Sean and I hope to meet you one day for a long chat and inspiration. We need ladies like you in our society. Keep doing your thing. I love you.

  2. ElleK March 1, 2012 at 10:16 am #

    Is this play still showing?? I really really want to see it, and somehow missed all the advertising!

    • Seanice March 7, 2012 at 9:34 am #

      sorry Elle – its not showing anymore – but we might have a re-run in June! will keep you posted 🙂

  3. Seanice March 1, 2012 at 12:25 pm #

    Ohhhh Lindah thank-you so very much for such a sweet message ! you have absolutely made my day and to think i was having such a crummy one!
    God bless you and have a lovely weekend!

  4. Mel March 1, 2012 at 1:51 pm #

    All of you need to come and see the play, when we show again. Sean u were fantastic, u’d think u’ve been at it for years (Yeah well except when I saw u crawl into service Sunday morning LOL)

    You adlibs made our nights, in rehearsals and even during the final 4 shows.

    Love u to bits can’t wait to start rehearsing for May.

    Mel aka Nansi

    P.S Sean is the same objective, straight foward, funny, sweet, kind, get-things-done, person on radio, TV, church, in rehearsals, backstage etc etc.

    • Seanice March 7, 2012 at 9:35 am #

      You are the SWEETEST! Mwah xoxoxoxo!! 🙂

  5. Roy Ronald March 30, 2012 at 9:51 am #

    Sean, I don’t think anyone would live up to that character the way you did.. felt like the writer had you in mind the whole time…You were great through and through.. from dancing, acting and Yeah Radio and TV as well (to go off topic abit).. Your the whole Package.. I Say you’re heavily BLESSED and is an honour to know you..

    • Seanice April 4, 2012 at 8:17 am #

      awwwwww! Thanks sooo much Roy *blushes!

Leave a Reply

